Council welcomes new Access and Inclusion Reference Group members


Monday, 9 November 2020


Central Coast Council has welcomed 13 new members to its Access and Inclusion Reference Group (AIRG) who will support Council to further improve accessibility and inclusion on the Coast.

The AIRG will guide Council in implementing the final year of its current Disability Inclusion Action Plan and will play an important role in the development of a new four-year Disability Inclusion Action Plan for 2021-2025.

These plans set out actions that Council will deliver to enable people with disabilities to better access mainstream services, facilities, information and support to be fully and equally included in the community.

Council’s Director of Connected Communities, Julie Vaughan said that the AIRG plays an integral role in helping Council to create an inclusive and accessible Central Coast for all residents with a disability.

“The 2020-2021 Access and Inclusion Reference Group includes community members with a lived experience of disability, as well as those who work within the disability and community sectors.

“The group reflects the many dimensions and diversity of disability. Members were selected for their expertise in accessibility, communication, legislation, advocacy and planning.”

Council interim administrator, Dick Persson AM said that the AIRG plays an important role in ensuring that the voices of people with a lived experience of disability are heard.

“Council is committed to ensuring it continues to improve access and inclusion for people with disabilities to be able to fully participate and contribute to community life on the Coast,” said Mr Persson.

“To be a truly responsive and inclusive community, we need to hear the voices of people who live with disabilities and understand the barriers they experience to full community participation.”

The new members of the AIRG are: Dr Gareth Beal, Keiran Booth, Kathy Fela, Daniel Greenwald, Cassandra Holmes, Elisa James, Maree Jenner, Carol Oakley, Bobby Redman, Joy Sinclair, Darlene Thornton, Natasha Bartley and Sarah Robinson.

Council would like to thank and acknowledge the former Access and Inclusion Reference Group members for their input and commitment.

To learn more about Council’s new AIRG members, visit search AIRG at


No votes yet


Add new comment

Last updated : Mon 9 Nov 2020